Skip to content

Caipirinha Truffles

31 de August de 2009

caipirinha-truffles- 2

And it’s time for my favorite blog carnival, the one and only…

Bake at 350

This month, the theme was lemon/lime. And you know the old Brazilian saying: if life hands you limes, make some caipirinhas!

Caipirinha is THE Brazil’s official drink, and for those of you who never tasted it, it’s a delicious and refreshing beverage with cachaça, lime juice, lots of ice and sugar. It’s so sweet and cold you will only notice the drunkness when it’s no turning point. Trust me – I know what I’m talking about.

If you want a taste of the drink, without the hangover, try my husband’s recipe for caipirinha truffles. The cachaça is very mild, with the freshness from the lime juice making these perfect for summer days.  They are best served cold.

Caipirinha Truffles

  • 300g (10 oz) finely chopped white chocolate
  • 80 ml heavy cream
  • 2 tsp glucose (or light corn syrup)
  • 2 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 tbsp cachaça
  • 14g (1 tbsp) butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • zest from 1 lime

Place the white chocolate in a bowl.

In a small saucepan, bring the cream and glucose just to a boil. Remove from the heat and pour the hot cream mixture over the white chocolate. Whisk until smooth. Let rest for 10 minutes.

Add the lime juice and the cachaça ans mix well to incorporate completely. Add the butter and whisk to combine. Cover with plastic wrap and live in the refrigerator for 48h.

When it’s ready to roll, mix in a bowl the sugar and lime zest. Rub with your fingertips until the sugar is moist and fragrant. Roll 1 teaspoon portions of the chocolate mixture into balls and roll in the lime sugar. Place in small paper cases and keep in the refrigerator or freezer. Serve cold.

caipirinha truffles

38 Comments leave one →
  1. 31 de August de 2009 19:05

    The truffles look amazing! I want to eat a dozen of them :) Is there something I can substitute for cachaca? (Cute mini-flip flops by the way!)

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      31 de August de 2009 19:07

      Dorothy, you can use rum or vodca as well.
      Thanks! :)

  2. 31 de August de 2009 19:22

    O_o
    How can this tinydelicious thing can exist ??????
    There is a God afterall !!!!! ^^

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    31 de August de 2009 19:42

    I love the photos~ what wonderful presentations! These truffles sound delish.

  4. 31 de August de 2009 20:05

    must be so good. I would gobble them all :)

  5. 31 de August de 2009 20:06

    Well first, I think I NEED a Caipirinha. Never had one, but you described it so well! :)

    And the truffles….yum-o! I love those little flecks from the lime zest!

  6. 31 de August de 2009 20:55

    Those cute flip-flops makes those truffles look like beach balls! Love caipirinha, another delicious way to enjoy it and with chocolate is perfect for me.

  7. 31 de August de 2009 22:21

    boy oh boy, am I glad I found your blog! Everything you bake is right up my alley. You seem like a very talented baker!
    Happy Baking to you,
    Mini Baker

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:12

      Thanks, Christa, I love mini food, just like you!

  8. 31 de August de 2009 22:59

    YUMmy!!

  9. 1 de September de 2009 0:04

    I’ve never heard of cachaca, but the truffles look delicious. And those little flip flops are awesome.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:13

      Dorci, my husband has a shoe store and I have a drawer full of mini flip flop keychains! :)

  10. 1 de September de 2009 2:42

    oh these are so pretty and adorable. i’d love to have a couple. also, those tiny yellow flip flops are well cute!

  11. 1 de September de 2009 18:09

    You were featured on CakeSpy! Yay!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      1 de September de 2009 19:04

      I know! :)
      That’s so great!

  12. 1 de September de 2009 21:14

    Those tiny flipflops! Omg! :D :D

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:14

      My husband is thinking in exporting the mini flipflops, what do you think of that? ;)

  13. Heidi permalink
    2 de September de 2009 1:51

    Sucrose? Not familiar with that as an ingredient. Is light corn syrup a good substitute for it?

    I’m also not familiar with the liquor, but I expect a citrus rum would be good.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      2 de September de 2009 2:23

      You can substitute light corn syrup and rum or vodca will work as well!

  14. 2 de September de 2009 2:41

    Very, very interesting!

  15. 2 de September de 2009 10:46

    Really!!!! This is great :)

  16. 2 de September de 2009 19:27

    Interesting truffles!! Love the idea.

  17. 2 de September de 2009 21:53

    I absolutely love your styling for this picture (and others) but this one really put a smile on my face. Beautiful job and the truffles sound heavenly! :D

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:15

      Thanks, Lorraine!

  18. 2 de September de 2009 23:20

    Those look YUMMY! Wonder if I can get cachaca locally?

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:16

      Jennie, I think you might find it at latin or brazilian grocery stores.

  19. 3 de September de 2009 13:41

    Love how these look! I love the little flip flops in the photo, very creative.

  20. 3 de September de 2009 14:25

    What a unique take on truffles! I’ve got to try this =)

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:17

      Do you think it can be a tada? :D

  21. 5 de September de 2009 19:31

    Those white chocolate truffles look so good!

  22. Fraga Rock permalink
    5 de September de 2009 22:18

    My husband and his family are from Brazil, and a friend of mine sent over your recipe to me, not knowinf what caipirinhas or cachaca were, but knowing i would LOVE this! Needless to say, I have a batch in my fridge right now and the 48 hour wait is going to me impossible with so many Brazilians taste-testing the batter :)

    thank you for such an awesome recipe!! (and my mother-in-law just brought me mini Havaianas just like in your picture!!!)

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:20

      Please, tell me how they turned out, ok? I’m curious to know what your Brazilian peeps thought of the truffles!

  23. 6 de September de 2009 13:01

    OMG-I want one-one box! They are beautiful!

  24. 7 de September de 2009 23:15

    why on earth havent i tried this yet? it looks awesome! wonderful recipe, same as the resto of the blog, amazing photos!

    cheers,

    pity

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      8 de September de 2009 20:20

      Thanks, Pity!

  25. 8 de September de 2009 0:50

    Holy cow these look good!! My husband and I love Caipirinhas!! We’ll definitely have to try these out.

Trackbacks

  1. MMM... For the LIME-LOVER in All of Us! :) - Cooking Forum

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

