Skip to content

End of Recess – Blackberry* Ice Pops

29 de January de 2010

My name is Paula and I survived TWO WHOLE MONTHS  of summer school recess with a 2-year-old at home. *applause*

Don’t get me wrong, I loved every second of it and probably gonna cry a river when the school gates close next Monday, but it requires a lot of imagination to entertain these little devils.

We painted real masterpieces with our fingers, crafted precious noodle jewelry, bought a fish now baptized as Hippopotamus, planted a black bean seed that now is getting gigantic and has to be transplanted to a vase, put our bathing suits to play in the shower on a rainy day, watched Snow White, The Lion King and The Little Mermaid a thousand times, baked cookies, draw on the living room wall with a red crayon (well, my participation on this one was only in the cleaning part) and made blackberry ice pops.

Blackberry* Ice Pops (makes 6 small pops)

These are pretty easy to put together, great to make with kids. I don’t have ice pop molds – the shot glasses worked very well and I believe small dixie cups would work too. For you guys on a diet, the sugar can be substituted by artificial sweeteners, to the taste.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups frozen blackberries (or any other berry)
  • 1/3 cup sugar (or to the taste)
  • 1/3 cup hot water
  • 6 shot glasses
  • 6 pop sticks

Place the fruit and sugar in a food processor or a blender. Add hot water and beat for several minutes, until the mixture turns into a purée. Pass through a sieve, pressing well, and discard seeds.

Transfer the mixture to the glasses and place the pop sticks. Freeze for at least 4 hours.

To release the ice pops, dip the glasses in warm water for a few seconds.

* There was a discussion on twitter if these are blackberries or mulberries, and I couldn’t find a reliable source of information to identify them. Here in Brazil they are all called amoras. Feel free to correct me anytime!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 de January de 2010 21:46

    i love popsicles, especially the ones with berries. YUM!

  2. 30 de January de 2010 0:08

    I love blackberries and have never seen blackberry ice pops. They look delicious!

  3. 30 de January de 2010 0:15

    Wow… such beautiful color and a great photo and recipe… those berries are perfect!!

  4. 30 de January de 2010 15:56

    I like the word “amoras” better that blackberries or mulberries. I think I’ll use that from now on and feel fancy! ;)

    These pictures are beautiful! I saw them on TasteSpotting or FoodGawker (or both) yesterday. I should have known these gorgeous pics were yours!!!

  5. 30 de January de 2010 21:03

    I think they’re probably blackberries, since in Spanish moras=blackberries and that’s quite close. The pops look very cute ^_^

  6. Erika permalink
    31 de January de 2010 9:33

    These are so so good especially since there is an abundance of blackberry’s here in the summer.

  7. 12 de February de 2010 9:20

    I think raspberries??? Blackberries are the black version of this.

  8. 15 de February de 2010 23:08

    i love the colous, the flavours, and even the title of the post, well done! cheers from london

  9. 21 de February de 2010 12:54

    These look so good, I have to bookmark them for when it’s finally hot around here. The pictures are beautiful, makes me want to be a little kid again (even though my Mom never ever baked), so I guess it makes me want to be “your” little kid. =)
    xo

  10. 11 de March de 2010 14:56

    Amoras I love thee… and pops I love thee more. These are beautiful!!

  11. kelleyann permalink
    31 de March de 2010 18:30

    I actually grew up in Ecuador, eating “moras” which look exactly like this and sound almost identical b/w the spanish and portuguese. My understanding is that a mora is not quite a blackberry. That they are their own berry.

    I grew up drinking fresh, homemade mora juice (delicious!) but I will say that the flavor is different than a blackberry.

  12. 4 de April de 2010 0:49

    Was she/he well-behaved?

  13. 21 de May de 2010 15:02

    Nice blog, i like it, its informative,
    i will visit his blog more often.
    i like your article specially about
    End of Recess – Blackberry* Ice Pops

    Cheers

Trackbacks

  1. Lördagslänkar « söta saker

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

