Skip to content

Magic Apple Bars

14 de May de 2009

apple copy

Once upon a time, my mother made tongue for a Sunday lunch. The only thing was she didn’t tell me it was tongue. By the time I was in my third piece, my older brother revealed the truth, laughing like there’s no tomorrow “HAHAHAHAHAHA, YOU ATE TO-ONGUE, YOU ATE TO-ONGUE!”… All of our guests must have found that very amusing, and laughed at me also. Me, I cried – because of all the laughing and because I ate tongue. Silly me – it was delicious.

In my child’s head, anyone who could make ox tongue taste good was a culinary genius.  The myth got even stronger every time she came home with all that strange ingredients: ox brains,  frog legs…
And there was these apple bars.  It’s almost like a cobbler, but you don’t prepare any dough. You just throw the ingredients one in the top of another and that’s it.
When she asked me to see it, I didn’t believe something could come out of it: how all that flour will become apple bars? Then, she did magic again – a delicious apple dessert, in front of my amazed eyes.

I bet she was secretly laughing at me.

Magic Apples Bars (16 pieces) – from mom’s recipe notebook

  • 4 sliced apples
  • cinnamon
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1  1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 125g melted butter
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 tbsp sugar – to sprinkle

Butter an 8/12 inch pan. Preheat oven 350F.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Whisk well.

Arrange the sliced apples in the pan close together. Sprinkle cinnamon to the taste.

Spread the flour mixture over the apples. Pour cooled butter over the flour and the eggs over the butter. Try to do it the most evenly you can, but don’t worry with some little dry spots.

Sprinkle sugar and more cinnamon, if you want, and bake for 40 minutes (you will have a golden crust and a toothpick inserted will come out with a few moist crumbles). Let cool and cut into bars.

My bars were served with a caramel/ dulce de leche sauce – dulce de leche with some milk to dissolve and 30 seconds in the microwave.

applequadros

11 Comments leave one →
  1. lailablogs permalink
    14 de May de 2009 21:30

    looks absolutely delicious .. love the photos … Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  2. 16 de May de 2009 17:26

    Your pictures are gorgeous! Love the story! ♥

  3. thecookieshop permalink*
    18 de May de 2009 20:44

    Thanks, girls!

  4. 27 de May de 2009 15:44

    I’ve recently become interested in cooked apples as a dessert. I wasn’t much for apple pie as a child and largely due to the fact that I thought the cooked apples felt like wet tongues in my mouth. Ridiculous I know. However, recently I’ve had an apple strudle and and apple pie which both had wonderfully firm apples. Do these bars have similar texture as brownie or more like a mini pie?

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de May de 2009 23:08

      They are a cross between a dense cake and a pie in the top layer with the apples in the bottom.
      I used gala apples for this one, and they turned out ok, regarding the texture, but you can use any kind of baking apples you have in your region.

  5. 28 de May de 2009 18:19

    Thank you!

  6. Jen permalink
    16 de November de 2009 22:00

    These sound great!! Are these bars able to packed in a lunch? Are they to moist or crumbly?

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      16 de November de 2009 23:39

      Totally “packable”, Jen, if you wrap them in plastic or foil. They are moist and cakey, very flavorful. Hope you enjoy them!

  7. Syin permalink
    1 de February de 2010 23:02

    I doubted that this would work right up until I cut into it. Tastes amazing! I added loads of cinnamon and a pinch of garlic. I’ll be likely to make this again, maybe reducing the sugar a bit, even though I still can’t understand the ‘magic’ behind it!

    • Syin permalink
      1 de February de 2010 23:02

      Whoops, I meant a pinch of GINGER.

  8. Carole permalink
    5 de October de 2012 3:15

    found this on pinterest… can’t wait to have my granddaughters help me make it soon.

Leave a Reply

