Skip to content

Rum-Scented Marble Cake

25 de June de 2009

bolo marmore rum LOW

Photograph inspired by Marcus Nilsson work for Martha Stewart Living magazine, June/2009

My hubby, Xandoca, is always asking me to make him cake. The problem is – he always wants the same, carrot cake.

If you have a food blog, you know I CAN’T make the same recipe every time. Besides that, there’s zillions of cake recipes out there (sometimes I even get a little sad my life will probably end before the pile of recipes I haven’t tried yet – oh, the human finitude)

Xandoca: this is no carrot cake, but I’m sure you gonna love it, ok?

Rum-Scented Marble Cake (from epicurious.com)

This cake has a different method than the traditional “cream butter, sugar, add eggs”, but it worked just fine. Despite of all the butter, it’s a light and fluffy cake, not too sweet, with a mild but present rum scent. It got better the next day.

The original recipe calls for a 12 cup bundt cake pan, but I halved the recipe and used a large loaf pan, buttered and coated with fine bread crumbs.

Base batter

  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour (spoon flour into a dry-measure cup and level off)
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 12 ounces/350 grams (3 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 7 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons dark rum

Chocolate batter

  • 2 tablespoons dark rum
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 6 ounces (175 grams) bittersweet (not unsweetened) chocolate, melted and cooled
  • 2 cups Base Batter

Set a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat to 325°F (160°C).

In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Stir well by hand to mix. Add the butter. Beat the mixture on low speed with the paddle until the mixture is a smooth, heavy paste, 1 to 2 minutes.

Whisk the eggs and rum together. On medium speed, beat 1/3 of the egg mixture into the flour and butter mixture. Beat for 1 minute.

Stop and scrape down the bowl and beater. Add half of the egg mixture and beat for 2 minutes. Repeat with the other half.

Remove the bowl from the mixer and using a large rubber spatula give the batter a final mix.

For the chocolate batter, combine the rum, milk, and baking soda in a medium mixing bowl, Whisk well to dissolve the baking soda. Scrape in the chocolate and whisk it well. Add the 2 cups of base batter to the chocolate mixture and whisk well to combine.

To marbleize the cake (a picture is worth a thousand words)

passoapasso LOW

Working in layers, alternate spoonfulls of the two batters, in a checkerboard pattern. Run a table knife through the batter creating swirls.

Bake the cake until it is well risen and firm, and a toothpick or a small thin knife inserted midway between the side of the pan and the central tube emerges dry, about 1 hour.

Cool the cake in the pan for 5 minutes, then invert a rack over it. Invert and lift off the pan. Cool the cake completely over the rack.

marble cake LOW

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 25 de June de 2009 21:59

    YUMMY!!!. Wow what a great looking post. I wanted to lick the screen it looked so good. This is a recipe I will be trying.
    Thanks

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de June de 2009 16:02

      Thanks! Let me know if you liked it!

  2. cakebrain permalink
    27 de June de 2009 4:27

    gee, that slice of cake sure looks like it’s smiling! I see a big grin in the marbling! looks yummy! I too have a problem with family members wanting the same old type of cake (chiffon in our household).

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de June de 2009 16:04

      Now I want to see that chiffon cake, too!

  3. 28 de June de 2009 15:37

    Oh this is brilliant & inspirational. Yes, indeed, pictures are worth a 1000 words & yours are wonderful. LOL about having a blog to feed as well as the hub. Hubs gotta understand that the blog needs more variety than carrot cake. How sweet that is!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de June de 2009 16:07

      Deeba, I guess we all have the same issue with our families! Thanks for your lovely comment!

  4. 29 de June de 2009 4:16

    I know what you mean! I can’t eat at the same place or cook the same thing twice. This looks marvellous! 😀 So what did he think?🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de June de 2009 16:08

      Lorraine, he ate the whole thing. But I had to bake the carrot cake a few days later anyway! I guess I’ll have to post the infamous soon.

  5. 30 de June de 2009 15:30

    Hi Paula!
    I’m new to your blog and (God Bless TasteSpotting) I’m so glad I found you!!!!! Your work (play!) is lovely and I adore your photos and recipes! This cake in particular really reminds me of my mom’s signature cake, which she made every Sunday while I was growing up.
    I think you’re puttnig your new-found free time to excellent use here!!! And, maybe, this will be the beginging of a new career!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de June de 2009 16:11

      Marta, you are so sweet! I love your blog and I’m very happy you liked mine!

  6. 8 de August de 2009 3:44

    I’ve never been a fan of marble cakes, brownies, etc… but rum-scented?! Now we’re talking. It’s on my to-make list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

