Skip to content

Banana Upside Down Cake

18 de July de 2009

BananaUpsideDown 01LOW
I’m in the middle of a super, super busy week, lots of orders, so I decided to post this little cake.

This recipe was originally published in the super cool blog The Wicked Noodle, as a guest post. It’s as Brazilian as you can get: this buttery cake with the caramelized bananas on top can be found in almost every bakery around here.

Banana Upside Down Cake

For the caramel banana layer:

  • 1 1/2 cup (170g) sugar
  • 5 to 6 ripe bananas (make sure they are ripe, otherwise they will become hard)

For the cake:

  • 2 cups (240g) all purpose flour
  • 1 cup (90g) cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 4 large eggs, divided
  • 4 tbsp (56g) unsalted butter
  • 2 cups (200g) sugar
  • 1 cup (200ml) milk
  • Make the banana layer:

    1. Put the sugar in a 10 in. (25cm) round pan, and bring it to a medium heat to
    make a dry caramel. Once it’s fluid and light amber in color, with a wooden spoon,
    distribute the caramel evenly all over the bottom and sides of the pan. Set aside.
    2. Split the bananas lengthwise and distribute them with the cut side down, over the
    caramel. Try to place them as close as you can (they will shrink a bit) and close to
    the pan sides – it will be easier to release the cake later if you do so.

    Make the cake:

    1. Preheat the oven 350° F (180°C).
    2. In a bowl, sift the flour, cornstarch and baking powder. Set aside.
    3. Beat the egg whites with a pinch of salt until soft peaks form. Set aside.
    4. In the electric mixer, beat the butter, sugar and egg yolks until very light and
    creamy.
    5. Add the flour mixture in three additions, alternating with the milk. Beat only
    until the flour is all mixed. With a big spatula, fold the beaten egg whites
    carefully.
    6. Pour the batter over the banana layer, distributing evenly.
    7. Bake for 40 to 50 minutes, until it’s golden and a toothpick inserted in the
    center of the cake comes out clean. Let the cake rest for a bit, but you want unmold it while it’s still warm.

BananaUpsideDown 02LOW

30 Comments leave one →
  1. 18 de July de 2009 14:45

    what a nice cake! I ve never seen an upside down cake. myst be so good though. Caramel and bananas… awesome!!

  2. 18 de July de 2009 14:45

    **swoons**

  3. 18 de July de 2009 16:15

    What a unique looking cake🙂 I’ve seen a pineapple upside down cake, but not a banana. Thanks for the post🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      23 de July de 2009 16:44

      Thanks, girls!

  4. Barista permalink
    18 de July de 2009 18:10

    This was my favorite thing when I lived in Brazil. I remember sneaking into the kitchen and cutting small pieces for myself over and over again until I’d eaten almost half of the cake. So delicious and I’m so glad to have this recipe now. Obrigada!

  5. 18 de July de 2009 21:49

    This is indeed a unique cake! I love the way the bananas kept their shapes.

  6. 18 de July de 2009 21:57

    Wow…who knew bananas could be so exciting?!? This cake looks so cool!

  7. 18 de July de 2009 22:36

    That is beautiful!

  8. 19 de July de 2009 0:06

    WOW!

  9. 19 de July de 2009 1:55

    You have a talent that inspires me! GREG

  10. wickednoodle permalink
    19 de July de 2009 17:51

    This cake was very popular when I posted it on TWN, and it still looks fabulous no matter how many times I see the pics! My husband has been begging me to make it – and he doesn’t make too many requests, so it’s a real compliment. I LOVED having you as a guest poster almost as much as I love your blog itself! 🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      23 de July de 2009 16:49

      Kristy, you are so sweet! I love your blog too!

  11. 19 de July de 2009 20:26

    Oh! This cake looks so special and delicious. Caramelized bananas are a dream, aren’t they?

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      23 de July de 2009 16:50

      Yes they are! One of the best combos ever!

  12. birthday cake pictures permalink
    20 de July de 2009 3:34

    How do you get the bananas to end up crunchy? I tried out the recipe by mine are a bit stogy. Anyway, it still tasted great!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      20 de July de 2009 12:33

      They are not supose to get crunchy, in fact, the banana layer should end up very soft and sweet (the fruit release a lot of juices while baking, so the caramel dissolves in a sauce). I hope you are not too disappointed with the results!

  13. 20 de July de 2009 21:04

    I’m glad you took time out of your busy schedule to post this gorgeous cake. It looks moist and syruppy!!!

  14. 22 de July de 2009 23:46

    This is so clever! I love the look of it too and the caramelisation sounds goregous (I’m addicted to bananas and caramel)!😀

  15. 24 de July de 2009 18:26

    wow! that looks soooo goood!!! I have a bunch of bananas at home just waiting to be baked into something…before they go too bad!! thanks for sharing =)

  16. 24 de July de 2009 22:32

    Stunning! I’ve seen other versions of this, but none that looked nearly as pretty.

  17. 25 de July de 2009 16:37

    That’s beautiful! I made some Banana Upside Down Muffins and they were amazing, so I bet this was delish too!

  18. 30 de July de 2009 13:09

    oh this looks amazing. it’s a true beauty!

  19. Misha permalink
    30 de August de 2009 7:30

    Paula, I am going to attempt this lovely cake this week, thanks to you! Can you please provide the dimensions/measurements of the pan you used? I’m sure various ones would do, but I want to achieve the same thickness as yours. Obrigado!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de August de 2009 16:31

      Misha, I used a 20cm square pan. Good luck and let me know how the cake turned out!

      • Misha permalink
        21 de February de 2010 22:14

        Hi Paula! I’ve made this a few times now. So excellent! I used the same sized pan but my cake always turns out thicker than yours, so I may try my round springform pan soon. Is there a way for me to post a photo here? Misha

      • thecookieshop permalink*
        22 de February de 2010 13:31

        Hi Misha! I don’t recommend the use of springform pans for this cake because the caramel will leak (I’ve tried it once). Maybe a large pie pan might work better for you.
        I’d love to see some photos, why don’t you email me? pedidos@thecookieshop.com.br .
        Happy baking!
        Paula

  20. 21 de February de 2010 13:29

    GORGEOUS… it’s just screaming GOOD!

  21. 21 de February de 2010 13:33

    Do you think this will work with fruits like apple or pears?

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      21 de February de 2010 14:21

      Yes, people make it with apples and pineapple often, I guess it’d work with pears as well.
      XO

  22. Secret Primrose permalink
    12 de November de 2010 15:37

    Today I really wanted to make a cake but had little in my kitchen. I really did not want to go to the shops as it is windy and raining outside, then I came across your blog, and what a delight it is, so many lovely recipes that I had to bookmark you.

    As it turned out I had all the ingredients to make your banana upside down cake, (an alternative the the usual apple) and it is a delicious success!!

    The sponge is so delicate, I though it wouldn’t be as I whisk by hand, a new kitchen favourite!

    thank you xx

Leave a Reply

