Skip to content

To the followers – Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Cinnamon/Almond twist

26 de October de 2009

cookies-dorie

How curious: when I started this humble blog, I thought it would be a place where my costumers could see some photos of my work.  Next, I was writing about my life and thoughts, both in Portuguese and ENGLISH (what was I thinking). Oddly, a few readers started to live comments. Then I replied to the comments, and started a dialog with these people I’ve never met – real friends I miss when I’m not online. Not mentioning the crazy lady who hates me and leaves insulting comments every new post. Gotta love her. Everything very surprising to me.

And then, Twitter came into my life. You must have heard of it by now, right?  It’s that place where your name starts with a @ (I’m @thecookieshop there), people follow you, you follow people, and everybody thinks out loud in 140 characters.  Sometimes someone pays attention to something you say and reply or repeat to others with the letters RT in front of the sentence. I’m still trying to figure it out, though.

The thing became so popular, real celebrities are thinking out loud there. Ya know, Demi Moore’s family and stuff. What you don’t know is that the anchorman of the most famous newscast program in Brazil is on Twitter, and he asks his followers to choose the tie he’ll wear on TV everyday. Yes: he posts a twitpic of three different ties and the followers choose #1 #2 or #3.  Surreal? I think so.

If he can do it, why can’t I? So I asked my followers if they’d like a cake or a cookie recipe for this post, and they chose cookie, so cookie it is. I feel obliged to make one thing clear, though: if you want to follow me, that’s fine, but I have no idea where I’m going, ok?

cookies-dorie-2

Dorie Greenspan’s Best Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Baking: From My Home to Yours) – makes 45 to 50

I have this book for a long time, made a bunch of the recipes, but had never tried the choc chip cookies yet. They are really, really delicious, thin, crisp on the edges and chewy in the middle, just perfect in texture. My twist was spice them up a bit with cinnamon instead of vanilla, and almonds substituting the walnuts, which I think worked pretty well, and made the whole thing kind of a chic cookie. These are best eaten the day they are made, and bestest still warm from the oven.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup/ 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temp.
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (or 2 tsp ground cinnamon)
  • 12 oz./340g chopped dark chocolate/ chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (I used almonds)

Preheat oven to 375° F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.

Combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a small bowl. With the electric mixer, beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well (1 or 2 minutes) after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture, in three additions, only until smooth. Stir in the chopped chocolate and nuts. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto prepared baking sheets.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are golden brown. Cool on baking sheets for 1 minute; carefully remove with a spatula to wire racks to cool completely.

cookies-dorie-3

24 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 de October de 2009 2:49

    Beautiful pictures! I can taste the cookie from your pictures! I’m anxious to try your variations.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:40

      Thanks, Gale! I’m all flattered by your compliment – your pics are GORGEOUS!

  2. islandexile permalink
    26 de October de 2009 3:56

    It’s my turn to bring cookies to the class we’re taking – James Joyce’s “Ulysses”; these should be perfect for 40 “retired” intellectuals. Thanks!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:41

      islandexile, tell me if they liked the cookies!😉

  3. 26 de October de 2009 14:29

    YUMMY!!! I follow you!!!🙂 And yesterday I joined twitter! @bakeat350tweets

    I have no idea what I’m doing, either!😉

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:46

      Hehehe, now we can follow each other to nowhere!😀

  4. 27 de October de 2009 6:03

    I just found your blog through another blog. I love the way you write! Down to earth and humorous – just the way I like my blogs! Your photos are also beautiful. I’m in love with the close up of the chocolate chip!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:47

      Thanks, Erika!🙂
      Your blog is pretty neat, too!

  5. 27 de October de 2009 12:35

    These choco chip cookies look sooo great. I will try these in my Cuisinart Toaster in Japan and see how they turn out.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:48

      Kaori, let me know how they turned out in the toaster!

  6. 28 de October de 2009 11:59

    delicious! these look so amazngly good, i couldn take my eyes from the photos, well done! cheers from london

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:49

      Thanks, Pity!🙂

  7. 28 de October de 2009 14:25

    Those cookies are to die for. Omgosh, they look so chewylicious–gotta love that.

    Thanks for sharing the recipe, I’d definitely try this.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:52

      They ARE chewylicious, I recommend to anyone in need of some cookie therapy!

  8. 2 de November de 2009 14:31

    Yummmm! I can’t believe how many recipes that are out there for chocolate chip cookies! In my whole lifetime, I have tried at least 10 or 11 of them. After all that trying, I think we have found our go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe. These look really good though and I may just have to try them🙂 I have a Twitter account also and am still trying to figure it all out🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de November de 2009 1:53

      Hey, there’s always room for one more recipe, right?😉

  9. Anita N. permalink
    6 de November de 2009 22:02

    These cookies do look pretty incredible. I’m a little confused though…in your description of the recipe and in your ingredients list you say you substituted cinnamon for vanilla extract. However, when describing the procedure for making the cookies, you apparently used both cinnamon and vanilla…which one should I do? Substitute one for the other, or use both?

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de November de 2009 23:02

      I used only cinnamon, but if you are using vanilla instead you should add it when mixing the butter and sugars mixture. But feel free to use both, if you like!

  10. 10 de November de 2009 0:57

    Yummo! A pound of sugar but I still think the recipe will taste great from Chloe’ 8yrs old.

    OMG! Heaven in a jar! We have the squash and pumpkin in the basement…. I will make this this week! LOVE it!!!

    Happy Fall!

    Karen and Chloe’ from Karen B’s Cooking Made Easy!

    http://karenbcookingmadeeasy.blogspot.com

  11. jackie permalink
    9 de January de 2010 3:38

    Hi

    In your headnote, you say the cookies are best eaten the day they are made. What happens if they are still are around a few days later, does the flavor and texture deterioate, I usually like to make the batter and chill it overnight before baking.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      9 de January de 2010 3:50

      Hi Jackie!
      They are still ok after a few days, the only thing is they lost the crisp edges a bit, becoming a little softer. I’ve never tried to let the dough rest overnight with this recipe, but I believe it should be fine.
      Cheers,
      Paula

  12. 4 de February de 2010 14:28

    Your cookies picture really temp me to bake these goodies!
    Must be yummy. Wanna ask have u try Dorie’s Malt Whopper Cookies?

  13. humanb permalink
    5 de May de 2010 7:36

    Hi,

    I bookmarked this post ages ago and finally made the recipe last week. Oh – my – YUM. I’m an American living in Australia and those cookies made me feel like a kid again in Pennsylvania. I’m about to make a second batch now…

    Thank you. 😉

  14. Paula permalink
    27 de February de 2011 20:02

    I am on a quest for the perfect chocolate chip cookie and I like using different spices than what are called for in the recipe, just to mix things up a bit. But, I don’t like the idea that the cookie is only at its best when fresh from the oven. (I only like to portion out a few at a time, or I would eat the whole batch!) Will try this one tho and see how I like it, I mean can you ever have enough c.c. cookie recipes????

Leave a Reply

