Skip to content

A Gift from the Kitchen – Chocolate Fudge Sandwich Cookies

10 de December de 2009

Holiday season used to be a pain for me. If the traffic jams and shopping madness weren’t enough, there are this events you can’t run away from, like the infamous OFFICE PARTY: too much to drink, to little to eat, and the consequent embarrassments that follows…

Not mentioning the secret santa, this fun game were you always lose, giving something great just to receive something, well, like a blouse too small for you, or a CD of some singer you don’t even like.

This year, however, everything is different: since my office has only one employee (me) there’s no office party, I’ve met all these great new people online and on Twitter (like Caroline from when adobo met feijoada, who was kind enough to send me a Martha Stewart Sweets magazine – any time now, Caroline!), and my secret santa was with food bloggers and crafters from all around the web.

I’ve made this sandwich cookies for my secret santa, who should receive his or her package tomorrow. I hope you like it, dear friend!

Chocolate Fudge Sandwich Cookies  (makes 40 ) – adapted from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook

This is another version of the now renowned homemade Oreos. I’ll share with you the chocolate fudge filling recipe, but you could fill the cookies with whatever strikes your fancy, like I did with some store-bought peanut butter and a dot of jam. Could be a dollop of Nutella, or dulce de leche, YUM…

For the Cookies

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar, plus more for flattening the cookies
  • 10 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 large egg, room temperature

For the filling

  • 1 cup dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter

Make the cookies

Preheat oven to 375° F. Into a bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt.

In the bowl of the electric mixer, cream sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add the egg and beat to combine. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture and beat until combined.

The recipe here asks to form balls with a 1 1/4-inch ice cream scoop, with I thought too much. I formed two teaspoon balls and flattened them onto parchment lined baking sheets, with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar.

Bake the cookies for 10 minutes or until they are firm. Let cool in the baking sheets over a wire rack.

Make the Filling

Melt chocolate in the microwave oven, in 30 second intervals, or over a double-boiler. Once it’s smooth, add butter and condensed milk, stirring to combine. Let cool.

Place the cream in a pastry bag fitted with a coupler (I used a ziploc bag) and pipe about 1 teaspoon of cream in the flat side of half of the cookies. Place remaining cookies on top, and press gently. Filled cookies can be stored in airtight containers for 2 days.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 de December de 2009 20:34

    SENSATIONAL cookies!

  2. 10 de December de 2009 20:55

    OMG you make your own Oreos – that’s one of the things in my must-do list. And the chocolate brigadeiros filling is genius. Your Secret Santa would be so happy to receive these, so much better than a small-fitting blouse!😉
    It was a pleasure sending you the Martha magazine. I figure any person who *hearts* Martha & is not afraid to make it known is a friend of mine. And I’m just helping out a friend in need. Can’t wait for you to get your package (I think I’m more excited than you are!)🙂
    Oh, and Happy Birthday, Paula!

  3. linz permalink
    11 de December de 2009 3:25

    Ohhhhhh my god I want those right now, in my stomach.

  4. 11 de December de 2009 21:04

    Yum – there’s never enough chocolate in our lives and especially at Christmas. I’m making them tonigh!!!

  5. 12 de December de 2009 13:04

    I wish you were my secret santa!!! P. I love all things you make and all what you write!

  6. 13 de December de 2009 16:10

    Just looking at those makes me so hungry. The picture of the chocolate filling is completely drool-worthy. You have a beautiful blog!

  7. 17 de December de 2009 12:22

    They look delicious and the filling sounds great. I will have to try these. We are actually having our office party today. It’s just a potluck and an ornament exchange so it’s pretty “safe!” Of course I am bringing in cookies….love cookies!

  8. 31 de January de 2010 1:33

    These look like fabulous! Have you tried Martha’s Granny’s Chocolate Cookies? Excellent.

  9. 26 de February de 2010 17:24

    I just found your site and it’s very cute. I agree with you on the secret santa let down. I’ve only had one good year when a very thoughtful co-worker gave me a bottle of Grey Goose as my present😀 I do love getting and sending care packages though, so it might be fun to put together a non-christmas secret santa event in the spring?

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      1 de March de 2010 15:19

      😀 – Hey, a bottle of Grey Goose is not that bad of a present, you could use it DURING the secret santa, get drunk and forget all about it the next day!
      About the Spring Santa – I’m in!
      Cheers,
      Paula

Leave a Reply

