Skip to content

And my Secret Santa is… – Blondies with cachaça and Brazil nuts

21 de December de 2009

A few posts ago, I’ve mentioned the Secret Santa I was playing along, with virtual friends that became real. The general idea was that the presents should be mostly handmade, and it must contain one thing to eat, one craft of choice and a recipe to be blogged later.

To my dear friend Adriana Oliveira I’ve sent lots of cookies, a hand painted (by my daughter) dishcloth and Hello Kitty cookie cutters. She posted some photos at her twitpic.

Tatu, from the lovely Mixirica blog, was my Secret Santa, and was super sweet to come to my house in person to bring her present to me.

Inside the pretty ladybug box, a bear family and farm animals cookie cutter sets, a cookie note pad (strawberry scented!), her cookbook (yes, she is a great cookbook author!) and the best muffins I’ve ever eaten – thanks, Tatu, I really loved  your gifts!!!

Tatu’s book is very interesting, the recipes are inventive and original – a cross between traditional northeastern cooking and very familiar dishes that could be in everybody’s table, anywhere in the world. I chose this one because I’ve never had baked with white chocolate and the idea of  adding cachaça to a cake sounded very appealing to me. If you don’t have cachaça at hand, you can skip the booze or substitute vodka or rum instead.

These blondies are moist, fudgy and nutty, just the way I like it.

Branquinho de Branquinha (blondies with cachaça) – from the book A Peleja do Alecrim com o Coentro e outros Causos Culinários: Receitas e Cordel, by Tatiana Damberg – makes 16 pieces (for measurement conversions, please take a look at the conversion calculator at right side bar)

  • 200g white chocolate, chopped
  • 100g butter
  • 320g sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp cachaça (or vodka, or rum, or whatever booze you like)
  • 140g flour
  • 1/2 peanuts (I used Brazil nuts, chopped)

Preheat oven to 350°F/ 180°C. Butter a 9-inch pan and dust with flour.

Melt the butter and white chocolate together, using a double-boiler or microwave oven. Mix the chocolate mixture with the sugar. Add the eggs and the cachaça and whisk until smooth.

Add flour and fold until incorporated, then the peanuts. Pour the batter into prepared pan, and bake for 35 minutes or until golden and a toothpick comes out with moist crumbles. Let cool in the pan over a wire rack and cut in squares.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalie permalink
    21 de December de 2009 21:09

    wow these blondies look so moist and rich. these are so tempting !

  2. 23 de December de 2009 1:11

    Ooh you lucky girl-what a great package (and I like the idea of your Secret Santa and the item that you make something from). What delicious looking Blondies-they look so moist! I hope you and your friends and family have a wonderful holiday season! xxx

  3. 23 de December de 2009 11:08

    How fun to get such a package!
    The blondies sound great with Brazil nuts- yum.

  4. 30 de December de 2009 14:36

    What a great gifts and wonderful recipe… I must try it out🙂

    Have a very Happy New Year,

    Margot

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention And my Secret Santa is… – Blondies with cachaça and Brazil nuts « The Cookie Shop -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

