Skip to content

Smitten Kitchen’s Cheese Straws (with a rosemary twist)

25 de February de 2010

Long time, no see…

Things are pretty slow around here, because, unfortunately, I had to be put on a diet.  The sad reality is I found out the hard way I’m not a kid anymore, and there are things like high cholesterol and blood pressure in the world. So uncool.

It’s been tough to stay away from sugar, so I had to give my oven a break. But I missed it, my dear old tiny oven, so when hubs said some friends might stop by, I had the perfect excuse to make a little something.

I had this recipe bookmarked for a long time, and it’s savory, so not that bad, right? And boy, these are DELISH – cheesy, buttery, flavorful. I’m glad the guests liked them too – they disappeared before I could wreck the diet completely.

Cheese Rosemary Straws (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

The original recipe is made with sharp cheddar cheese and pepper, but I used what I had in hand – provolone and rosemary – and it was just as delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup grated cheese (sharp  cheddar, provolone, or any variety you like)
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp fresh or dried rosemary (or pepper)
  • 1 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 350°F and line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a food processor, combine the cheese, butter, flour, salt and rosemary (or pepper) in five 5-second pulses until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Add the MILK and process until the dough forms a ball.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough into an 8- by 10-inch rectangle. With a pastry wheel or a large knife, cut the dough into strips. Dust the dough with more flour if needed.

Transfer the strips to the baking sheets, leaving at least 1/4-inch between them.

Bake for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the ends are barely browned. Remove from the oven and set the cookie sheet on a rack to cool.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 de February de 2010 1:00

    I can practically taste the crunch and flavor in these. I have to try making them.

  2. 26 de February de 2010 3:00

    OH, these look delicious. I really want to try out a few recipes from this blog of yours because, again, they look delicious ;D

  3. 26 de February de 2010 3:29

    These do look good….and I can so relate to the beginning of this post. Here is to more ‘lean and mean’ recipes….grin….hard but I must do it too!

  4. 26 de February de 2010 17:08

    I missed YOU!!! These look delicious…and you’re right, like a diet ruiner. (But worth it!)😉

  5. lorraelenaangbuete permalink
    26 de February de 2010 19:09

    Hi! I’ve been following your blog for quite a while now and I must say that I always look forward to your next post. It’s always a delight to find yummy wonderfully shot food in my reader/inbox.

    I’ve yet to try the recipes you posted here because I don’t have a working oven yet but when I finally get one, your recipes will be the ones on the top of my list for things to try out.

    ^_^

  6. 26 de February de 2010 22:08

    Gorgeous photos! Can’t wait to try these, they look awesome!

  7. travelingwilbury permalink
    28 de February de 2010 13:54

    Hello!

    They look really nice! I did something similar a few months ago. These are also tasty!

    http://travelingwilbury.wordpress.com/2010/01/10/cheesy-feet-and-offspring/

    Congratulations on such a beautiful blog again!

    Gabriela

  8. travelingwilbury permalink
    28 de February de 2010 15:01

    HelloPaula!

    Me again!

    I’m sorry if I asked you this already but I can’t find my comment anywhere so here it goes: What camera/lenses are you using for the blog? I am considering buying a DSLR myself and any feedback will help.

    Muito obrigada!

    Gabriela

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      28 de February de 2010 15:20

      Hi Gabriela!
      I use a point and shoot camera (Canon SD 1100)! I’d love to buy a DSLR myself, but here in Brazil they are way too expensive. Check out these links from Smitten Kitchen and Tartelette – they give several great tips on cameras and food photography.
      Cheers!
      Paula

  9. travelingwilbury permalink
    28 de February de 2010 17:49

    Ola Paula!
    Many thanks for your help!

  10. 2 de March de 2010 2:10

    These definitely look delish! And they sound like a great way to be cutting down on sugar, but still be able to scratch the baking itch😛 Thanks for sharing!

  11. 5 de March de 2010 1:33

    These sound yummy. Your photos are really great!

  12. 13 de March de 2010 23:35

    i have a rosemary plant, so guess what I am baking tomorrow!
    it really looks so yummy, cheers from london

  13. 15 de April de 2010 6:31

    look so yummy delicious and crunchy… your photos are great too.

Leave a Reply

