Skip to content

Waffles and easy microwave strawberry syrup

30 de May de 2010

In my ideal world, there would be no wars, everyone would have free cable and all meals would be a 5 star hotel breakfast.

I love breakfast, although almost never I get more than ten minutes to sit down and eat something before I start my day. When I bought my waffle iron, I really was dreaming of deliciously peaceful breakfasts every day. But the thing sees the light of the kitchen only every now and then, mostly lazy Sunday mornings, when everyone wakes up together in the mood to make some waffle mess.

Waffles

  • 1 3 / 4 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 / 2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 eggs (whites and yolks separated)
  • 1 1 / 2 cup milk
  • 1 / 2 cup canola oil
  • Vanilla extract
Mix dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt and sugar) in a large bowl.

In a small bowl, whisk together egg yolks, milk and oil. Set aside.

Beat egg whites until you get soft peaks.

Add the egg yolks and milk mixture to dry ingredients and mix well. Add egg whites, and incorporate gently.

Brush melted butter on the waffle machine and proceed as manufacturer’s instructions. Serve immediately or freeze for up to six months.

Strawberry Syrup

  • 400g strawberries
  • 100g of sugar (or more if you like it sweeter)

In a tall microwavable container, mix strawberries and sugar. Bake in microwave on full power for 1 minute, mixing well half the time. Repeat this process until strawberries are soft, the sugar dissolves and a syrup has formed. Serve warm or at room temperature. May be stored in refrigerator for a week.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 31 de May de 2010 16:52

    Oooo, Paula…I LIKE your ideal world!

    Strawberry syrup! I’m thinking waffles for lunch! I have strawberries calling my name! 🙂

  2. 28 de June de 2010 14:31

    I just woke up and these look scrumptious!

  3. 19 de November de 2011 21:32

    MMM I am making those waffles tomorrow for a Sunday breakfast. Thanks for sharing your recipe, I’ll let you know how mine turn out!

  4. 22 de December de 2013 14:12

    Delicious! I just had to make these after seeing those fab pictures, i put nutella (a chocolate hazelnut spread) on mine.

Leave a comment