Skip to content

Strawberry Brigadeiros

8 de June de 2010

A while ago, I was reading one of my fave blogs, Smitten Kitchen, and for my complete surprise Deb had made the most popular Brazilian candy of all times: brigadeiros. I was even more surprised with the fact brigadeiros had been theme of a New York Times story (not just brigadeiros, but apparently America is rediscovering sweetened condensed milk, one of our main dessert ingredients).

I was really happy the rest of the world can now enjoy these little fudgy balls of deliciousness, and here is my contribution to the list of different flavors to play with. Enjoy!

Strawberry Brigadeiros, or “Bicho de Pé” (makes 50 small balls)

  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 tablespoons strawberry jelly
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • drops of pink gel food coloring

In a heavy saucepan, mix all ingredients. Cook over medium heat, always stirring, until mixture thickens and pulls from the sides and bottom of the pan. Transfer to a bowl to cool completely. With your hands lightly greased, roll balls (a teaspoon is a good amount) and roll in pink sugar, or sprinkles. Place balls in pretty paper liners.

36 Comments leave one →
  1. 8 de June de 2010 20:26

    INTERESTING 🙂 AND SO CUTE

  2. 9 de June de 2010 0:15

    Sounds like a sweet alternative to chocolate! All the PINK looks divine:)

  3. 9 de June de 2010 0:53

    so cute! I have to make dessert for a party where the theme is orange- I’m going to try this with apricot preserves.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      9 de June de 2010 12:11

      Hi, SS!
      Just make sure you process the preserves to get a very thin paste if you don’t want big chunks of fruit in yor brigadeiros.
      I hope you like it!

  4. 9 de June de 2010 7:54

    Very nice cupcakes and really very nice blog!!!

    Greetings from Spain!!

    Carol

  5. 9 de June de 2010 16:06

    I’ve never heard of these, but they are SO cute! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  6. 10 de June de 2010 21:30

    Love the color!

  7. 11 de June de 2010 0:13

    so cute! Love the pink.

  8. 11 de June de 2010 1:44

    very cute, and they sound so versatile too!

  9. Ana permalink
    11 de June de 2010 14:34

    As a fellow Brazilian I am a big fun of brigadeiros, which are my all time favorite party candy. My recipe for strawberry brigadeiro is slight different. I don’t use the jelly or food coloring but get the strawberry flavor from jell-0.
    Just add an envelop of jello-o to the condensed milk and cook it as usual.
    I’ve never tried with other flavors but I bet it would be great too!

    Thank you for sharing.

    • Vanessa P permalink
      1 de February de 2012 17:55

      When you add the jell-o do you add a small or large envelope??

      Thanks for your help, Vanessa P

      • Annie permalink
        1 de February de 2012 19:43

        I add a small box/envelope

      • Vanessa P permalink
        4 de February de 2012 2:47

        Thank you Annie!! Do you still add the butter??

      • 5 de February de 2012 4:28

        Yes I still add the butter. If you would like it less sweet.
        Add just half of the small package of jello. I’ve heard of people
        making it with strawberry flavored nesquik (2 TB spoons) and the
        butter as well but have not tried it myself.

        I have also made it with ground walnuts. About a cup. It is my favorit actually. You can keep the basic recipe of condensed milk and butter and add just about anything else you like to it.
        See this site. It is in Portuguese but you can use google translator. http://cozinhadajanita.blogspot.com/2011/05/receitas-de-brigadeiro-gourmet_06.html
        Lots of recipes.
        Good luck!

      • Vanessa P permalink
        7 de February de 2012 16:38

        Thank you so much you have been a tremendous help!! I am super excited to try these. And I love the walnut idea!! Happy baking:)

  10. Pat permalink
    14 de June de 2010 19:51

    I had trouble with the mixture firming up. I followed directions, cooking mixture till it “pulled away” from sides and bottom of pan. I apparently still didn’t cook it long enough. I figured the mixture would firm up more after it cooled down, but it didn’t. I then tried refrigerating it. Still bad. I had to throw the whole thing out. Very disappointing, considering how appetizing the photo looks.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      14 de June de 2010 21:17

      Pat, it seems you could have cooked it a little bit more – there are differences between brands of sweetened condensed milk (they can be more or less “condensed”), so the cooking time can vary a lot. If you are willing to try it again, I recommend the brand from the Latin food isle of your grocery store. Another tip is you should get a consistency similar to oatmeal, very thick.
      I’m sorry it didn’t work the first time!

  11. 27 de June de 2010 0:59

    Oh man, I have to try these soon. They look wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!

  12. Carly permalink
    21 de August de 2010 1:00

    Greetings from New Zealand!

    I would like to try these for my sons 5th birthday party. I was thinking Bright blue red and yellow ones to go with our superhero theme.

    How big is the can of condensed milk you used for this recipe? Our cans are 395gms, just wondering if we have the same size cans?

    Love your work.

    Carly

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      21 de August de 2010 18:07

      Hi, Carly! Thank you 🙂
      The cans here are the same size as yours, so it shouldn’t be a problem.
      Please let me know how it worked out, ok? And happy b-day to your boy!

      • Carly permalink
        30 de August de 2010 3:59

        I cooked until the mixture came away from the side of the pot but I might’ve overcooked it because I set it aside to cool and it set hard. I couldn’t even pull the spoon out.
        What kind of consistency should the brigadeiros be once they are the finished product?
        The blue was a little difficult to achieve as the condensed milk is a slightly yellow colour to begin with this mised with blue colouring turned the mixture green.

      • thecookieshop permalink*
        31 de August de 2010 12:35

        Hi, Carly! Sounds like you overcooked it a little. I found a youtube video ith brigadeiro instructions, maybe it helps: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XHOtPxJ9rdc&feature=related

  13. LuReis permalink
    1 de May de 2011 18:37

    I tried to make these with the jelly as recommended and it did not work for me. The consistency was just like curdled milk, not pleasant at all. Maybe it was something I did or maybe it was the jelly I used but it did not for me. I came back to read the feedback and saw the suggestion to use the packet of strawberry jello. I love it. Worked great and it was even quicker than normal. Thanks a bunch! Great site!

  14. Roeda permalink
    8 de February de 2012 21:01

    These look great , so I tried to make them and no luck, would not form into a ball. 😦

  15. 23 de May de 2012 20:32

    Didnt work for me. I cooked it until it was nice and thick and then let it cool. The mixture was soft and sticky, could not get it into a ball. Tried refrigerating the mix, hoping that would help. Still no-go. Maybe next time I’ll try and cook it longer.

  16. 18 de November de 2012 12:30

    These look amazing, and easy to make 🙂

  17. Lisa Konopka permalink
    12 de February de 2013 23:02

    Hello,to answer the question where the brigadeiro mixture turned up curdled ,mix all the ingredients minus the jello, bring to a simmer ,stir constantly for about 10 minutes until you see the bottom if you swish it from side to side and don’t get discouraged,I’m from Brazil and it took a lot of trial and errors to get it right 🙂

  18. 9 de April de 2013 6:14

    Hello, how do you get an overall pink coat without any brown showing from the ball?

  19. Leticia permalink
    30 de November de 2013 22:29

    I’m brazilian and i’ve to say… awesome. condensed milk its fantastic, you can use chocolate too. Its the most popular candy here and everybody here likes, EVERYBODY.

  20. Genevieve permalink
    10 de February de 2015 19:11

    These turned out great for me! thank you so much for sharing!
    For future reference, if I ever mess them up.. If i accidentally under cook, can I put the mixture back into the pot and re cook it? and to the opposite, If i accidentally over cook it can i re cook the mixture with a bit of water to thin it out?
    I make jelly and jams, that is what I would do if i messed up a batch of that and this seems like a similar process.
    I made these as a treat for valentines, but I am not sure if they will make it anywhere but in my belly 🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      12 de February de 2015 17:06

      Hi Genevieve! If its too soft you can cook a little bit more, but you can’t fix it if it’s overcooked. I’m happy you liked it!

  21. Sara Man permalink
    30 de November de 2016 2:03

    Do you think you can freeze them once they are made into balls? I would love to make these for a cookie exchange!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de November de 2016 21:47

      Yes, you can freeze them.

Trackbacks

  1. Something Sweet - Beyond Beyond | Beyond Beyond
  2. Chokladbrigadeiror | Sugarcandymountain
  3. Brigadeiros de fresa, receta de trufas brasileñas | Recetas para bebés y niños. Alimentación durante el embarazo y la infancia

Leave a comment