Skip to content

When everything else fails – blondies

11 de July de 2009

best blondies

It was one of those weeks. You know, when EVERYTHING goes wrong? Let’s put in list form for illustrative purposes:

  • cake #01 – trash can (totally collapsed)
  • cake #02 – trash can (overflowed)
  • cake #03 – ruined on transportation (those three on the same day)
  • dulce de leche crème caramel – broken while being unmolded
  • my first interview for a TV station to promote the blog: canceled because I caught a nasty flu, with fever and frog face included.

Don’t ask me why the recipes didn’t work this time – they were not even new. I wonder if Julia Child or Martha Stewart have ever had weeks like that. Doubt it.

For times like this, I make blondies – impossible to screw up and delish.

Blondies (adapted from the book  Chocolate Temptations, by Linda Collister)

Those are the best blondies I’ve ever made. Slightly chewy, with the caramel flavor from the brown sugar, this batter makes a very good base for whatever strikes your fancy: white, milk, dark chocolate, all kinds of nuts, even raisins if you like. I’ve never tried, but I think they might get a new dimension with some cinnamon in it. Maybe next time.

  • 140g unsalted butter
  • 400g light brown sugar (since we only have the dark molasses kind here in Brazil, I used 250g brown sugar and 150g granulated sugar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 300g plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • a large pinch of salt
  • 50g walnut pieces, roughly chopped (used walnuts and pecans)
  • 50g white chocolate, roughly chopped (used milk chocolate)
  • 50g dark chocolate, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 180°C. Line with foil a 30 X 22cm baking tray.

In a large, heavy pan, melt gently the butter. Add the sugar, stir well, and remove from the heat. Let cool for a minute, than add the eggs and vanilla, stirring well.

Sift the flour, salt and baking powder over the butter/sugar/egg mixture. Stir only until thoroughly blended, but don’t beat or overmix.

Pour the batter into the prepared tray, sprinkle the chocolates and nuts evenly.

Bake for 25 minutes until just firm.

Cool for a while in the baking tray, then lift the cake, transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Remove the foil and cut into squares. Makes 48 pieces.

blondies


30 Comments leave one →
  1. 11 de July de 2009 19:49

    Ahh, sorry about the kitchen disasters 😦 But hooray for blondies!! I have TONS of blondie recipes on my blog 🙂

  2. 11 de July de 2009 20:01

    Chunky blondies! I ,ove theat phrase on so many levels! GREG

  3. 11 de July de 2009 21:32

    I send you a comforting hug.
    Sometimes things just get a bit out of control, but don’t worry, everything will go back to normal soon! Recover from that nasty flu first 🙂
    These blondies do look like the perfect come-back after a bad baking session! Well done!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      18 de July de 2009 21:01

      Thanks for the hug, Marta! Now the flu is gone and the food is good again!

  4. 11 de July de 2009 23:50

    Your blondies look delicious! I love the combination of white chocolate and dark chocolate.

    I hope you are feeling better

  5. 12 de July de 2009 0:00

    Don’t you just hate days/weeks like that?!?

    Your blondies are beautiful! I wish I had one right now!!!

  6. 12 de July de 2009 21:52

    Ohh, I just made blondies and they are great aren’t they? Yours look awesome! The white chocolate is a nice touch…will have to try that next time!

  7. 13 de July de 2009 1:36

    Julia would have laughed it off and probably would have consumed her mistakes after making them into some other form. Martha is a robot. 🙂

    At least you had these wonderful looking blondies as a source of comfort. ( I just want to reach through my screen and grab one of those pecans ).

  8. 13 de July de 2009 2:16

    It’s hard for me to believe you ever have kitchen disasters as those blondies look completely amazing! 😀

  9. 13 de July de 2009 18:15

    Yummm! I found your blog on the foodie blogroll a couple of days ago and I’m hooked. Those look really good 🙂

  10. 13 de July de 2009 20:56

    I hope you’re better now and have rescheduled your fifteen minutes of fame! Martha and Julia TOTALLY had one of those weeks. Martha would never admit to them, of course.

  11. 14 de July de 2009 1:01

    I always feel so bad when I ruin my recipes too but then I just cheer myself up with something I KNOW I won’t mess up! These blondies look SO good and I love how you have both dark and white chocolate chunks in them. VERY well done!

  12. 14 de July de 2009 4:03

    Holy Smokes! This is the first time I’ve cruised your blog and I’m loving it. Your photography skills are fantastic. The blondies and the banana pie are 2 recipes I must try. Love the photo of the little stuffed monkey beside the pie! So cute!

    Heidi

  13. ziabaki permalink
    15 de July de 2009 5:27

    Beautiful pictures! Makes me want them now! Thanks for the post.

  14. 15 de July de 2009 18:23

    Oh it seems it really was one of those day. I have it sometimes too. Hope you re feeling better now. These blondies look delicious ! I really like the photo too!

  15. thecookieshop permalink*
    19 de July de 2009 2:07

    Thanks, everybody – glad I’m not the only one messing up things in the kitchen every now and then!

  16. 19 de July de 2009 9:24

    What a great blog. Glad I found you. I want to try those blondies.

  17. 19 de July de 2009 13:33

    Do you have the measurements for this in ounces? Looks so delicious with that perfect crackly crust on top.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      19 de July de 2009 17:15

      Lauren, I’ve just added a link to a cooking conversion calculator at the sidebar. I hope it helps!

  18. 27 de July de 2009 3:23

    Oh they worked out beautifully the third time around. WOW…you got patience & grit lady! Well done! ♥

  19. 15 de September de 2009 19:56

    DO YOU HAVE THE CONVERSIONS FOR THIS RECIPE? IN OZ. CUPS ETC. please, nd thanks

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      15 de September de 2009 20:53

      Laurie, in the right side bar you can find a link to Diana’s Desserts convertion calculators. I hope it helps!

  20. 21 de October de 2009 4:10

    I’m going through your archive – you make some amazing desserts!

  21. 4 de July de 2010 10:07

    Thank you for a fantastic recipe, in the UK there are no blondie makers, now we have one! ME! I’ve been trying to find one that works and today I made these with apple and cinnamon, they look great (still hot in the pan) can’t wait to eat them..

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      5 de July de 2010 15:58

      Nadya, this recipe came from a British cookbook, actually – I hope you like it!

  22. 13 de August de 2010 12:48

    Those are really beautiful! I just love the crackly tops.

  23. 3 de August de 2011 19:11

    WOW! I have been wanting to make blondies forever… now I found an amazing recipe 😀
    Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Top Posts « WordPress.com

Leave a comment