Skip to content

Playing with the Food VI – play dough

23 de July de 2009

play dough cup

In my endless quest for children’s activities and games, I ended up finding not one, but two real keepers.

The first one is a really good recipe for homemade playdough, pretty similar to the real thing. It’s very simple to make, and apparently the stuff lasts forever if  stored in airtight containers. There it is:

massinha bolas

Since the clay has been a total hit with the resident kiddo and eventual visitors, here’s my thought: “she might like to start cooking with mommy… look how much fun she is having with her play dough!”

I had this recipe for a while in my list, and I was dying to make it. The prep is the usual for sugar cookies, except for the tinting part (I found that a little time consuming).

All ready and set, I call the little girl. At that point, I had the strong belief I was going to be THE COOLEST MOM EVER.

Well, the little girl came, looked at the whole circus, ate a ball of raw dough, and just LEFT. No, she never came back – I was stuck with a ton of very colorful cookie dough and a floured table. These are the results:

play dough lollypopplay_dough_cookies

But I was not all alone! Soon enough my husband was at home to help me:

pacman LOW

That’s what you get when you let boys play.

Play Dough Cookies

The original recipe proposes cookies in lollipop form, but I couldn’t help myself and worked freestyle. There’s a fabulous tutorial here, if you decide to go for the lollies. Just be careful to bake similar sized cookies at a time. Besides their super cute looks, these really delivered tastewise – they are sugar cookies after all, with a pleasent crumbly texture from the cream cheese.

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 3 ounces cream cheese
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • assorted colors of paste food coloring
  • 24 lollipop sticks (optional)

  1. In the electric mixer, cream butter, cream cheese and sugar until  light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; beat until smooth.
  2. In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder and salt. Add dry ingredients to the creamed mixture. Stir till soft dough forms. Divide dough into fourths. Tint each with a different food color. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for 2 hours.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Working with half of each color, shape dough into 3/4 inch balls and for each cookie place 1 pink, 1 green, 1 blue and 1 orange (I used red, yellow, blue and green) ball together to make 1 large ball. Shape into a 12 inch long roll (like a snake), starting at one end, coil roll to make a 2 3/4 inch round cookie. Place cookies 3 inches apart on lightly greased baking sheet. Carefully insert lollipop sticks into bottoms of cookies.
  4. Bake cookies for 8 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool and store in an airtight container.
50 Comments leave one →
  1. 23 de July de 2009 7:49

    Oh wow, you really ARE the coolest mum ever! I’d have loved to have made these when I was a child. They’re gorgeous, especially the lollipop! 🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:12

      Thanks, Lorraine! Maybe my baby will think I’m cool someday… 😉

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    23 de July de 2009 12:42

    LOL
    I LOVE the pac man screen! One of my favorite games, to this day. : )
    Don’t ya love when you have the best idea ever and the kids snub their noses at it? Mine do the same thing. Glad you and your husband got to be kids again for a little while anyway.
    ~Michelle

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:13

      😀 Yes, Michelle, you never know when they gonna love it or hate it…

  3. 23 de July de 2009 16:59

    Your husbands cookie is amazing! I bet my BF would eat that – even though he’s sworn off sugar! I’d certainly have my fun too – you don’t even need kids for these – thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:14

      Totally agree, no kids needed for these!

  4. 24 de July de 2009 2:09

    Holy cow!!! That is AMAZING! SO much fun! I wish I had a cool baking, creative mommy like you!

  5. 24 de July de 2009 8:49

    Oh MY !! what a smart fun way to make cookies! Love this! BOOKmarked !

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:16

      It was a lot of fun! And I bookmark YOUR blog all the time!

  6. 24 de July de 2009 10:15

    Wow! Yummy! Thanks for the information! Nice article writing! Worth to read!

  7. 24 de July de 2009 13:28

    That is just too cool! I kept looking at the pictures, chanting: “I want one, I want one!” Fabulous- I think I might whip up some multi coloured dough and create a whole cookie landscape!…hmmmm not bad for Christmas either.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:17

      I’d love to see the landscape, that’s a fantastic idea!

  8. 24 de July de 2009 17:03

    I saw these on TasteSpotting this morning….I should have known they were from you. Too CUTE!!!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:18

      I knew you would like this recipe, Bridget!

  9. 25 de July de 2009 2:10

    These are just too fun! Will have to try them with my little girl when she’s a bit older! You are definitely a cool mom!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:19

      😀 I’m working on it, Christi!

  10. 25 de July de 2009 17:53

    Hahaha! That’s so cool. I have to say the pac man cookies made me laugh. I believe that to truly push boundaries in cooking you have to think like a child. There is a playfulness to the dishes of the top chefs in the world.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:21

      Totally agree with you – you never can take yourself (or your cookies) too seriously… 😉

  11. 26 de July de 2009 23:58

    Hahahah oh wow! These cookies are like my dreams come true! I love play-dough, baking, and cookies! How awesome!?

    About the whole egg buttercream, I just didn’t like the flavor that the yolks imparted. I prefer egg white/meringue buttercream! 😀

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      27 de July de 2009 15:24

      Aren’t they great?
      Maybe I’ll try it (the buttercream), just to use the friggin’ yolks!

  12. 31 de August de 2009 9:48

    That’s a lovely display. I’ve not see that recipe before, thanks.

  13. 12 de September de 2009 4:29

    These are FABULOUS! I will absolutely be making some! Thanks for sharing!!!

  14. 12 de September de 2009 13:56

    This is awesome! I put a link to this on my facebook page:-)

  15. 12 de September de 2009 16:25

    Love the cookies! We’re enjoying them here in rainy Texas this weekend. My friend says, “Sometimes after a shower, there are rainbows with cookies at the end.” mmmm, Who needs gold?

  16. 12 de September de 2009 16:31

    What fun! You are a fab mom! These cookies are a riot!

  17. mica permalink
    31 de March de 2010 12:56

    AAAHHH! I LOVE THEM! XD
    I’m going to go make them with my friends!!!! :DDDD

  18. 6 de December de 2010 7:30

    Thanks for this great recipe! VEry recognizable, though, your little girl leaving the kitchen without baking even a single cookie 🙂

    I posted this to my own Dutch blog as well, you can find it over here:
    http://www.ozowiezo.nl/blog/?p=2702&langswitch_lang=en&preview=true

    Thanks so much for sharing!

  19. Mina permalink
    24 de February de 2011 0:43

    hi! i would love to bake these cookies, they are just like playdough! Thankyou ! :))))))) I will bake these with my friends and make a farm with cookie animals! thanks again for the recipe!
    -Mina, 9

  20. Emma Porter permalink
    19 de April de 2012 14:18

    This is just the thing I’m looking for! But there’s a big ‘but’ in there, as I’ve got a kid who’s dairy allergic. Any ideas?

    • Shawna permalink
      18 de April de 2013 3:22

      Wonder if almond milk would make a good substitute?

  21. Oberti permalink
    24 de April de 2014 16:58

    Love your recipes. What is the brand you use for Colors?

Trackbacks

  1. Play Dough Cookies | The Cookie Blog
  2. 50 Best Cookie Recipes on Internet: Scene 2 : Baking Delights - Baking Tips and Recipes
  3. Play Dough Cookies | National Cookie Network
  4. Ozowiezo Blog / Regenboogje bij de thee (eetbare kinderklei-koekjes!)
  5. What’s cookin’ this week? 1/16 « Our Piep Show
  6. Rainbow’s Greatest Hits
  7. Play Dough Cookies — Family eGuide
  8. 25 Blogs with Family-Friendly Ways to Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day | Babysitters
  9. 25 Blogs with Family-Friendly Ways to Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day
  10. 25 Blogs with Family-Friendly Ways to Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day | TeacherTime123
  11. Top 20 St. Patrick's Day Foods For Both Kids & Adults!! - Woman of Many Roles
  12. Somewhere Over the Rainbow | mysunnysideuplife
  13. Escuela Infantil GRANVIA Vistahermosa » Archivo del weblog » Manualidades caseras: ¡masas para modelar y comer!
  14. Escuela Infantil GRANVIA Vistahermosa » Archivo del weblog » Manualidades caseras: ¡masas para modelar y comer!
  15. Saint Patrick’s Day: 25 sites to visit for crafts & other ideas | BellyitchWP
  16. Saint Patrick’s Day: 25 sites to visit for crafts, recipes & other ideas
  17. Easy Rainbow Recipes - DIYCraftsGuru

Leave a comment