Skip to content

Need smaller portions? – mini blueberry pies

31 de July de 2009

blueberry pie

Bake at 350I’ll have to bring a delicate subject up today: my pants are getting tight. Really tight. I’m not gonna lie to you and say my jeans are shrinking,  I have big bones or water retention. I’m now looking to you all in the eyes and confessing: I ate too much and I need to stop.

Talk about bad timing: right at this chubby moment of my life, I’m engaged in my very first food blog event, the Flavor of the Month, hosted by Bake at 350°’s Bridget.  And this month’s theme is PIE.

And how could I have my pie and keep my pants? I’ve decided to go for the smaller portions of everything technique, and turned my huge blueberry pie recipe into four cute little pies, muffin size.

Harmless? I don’t know about that, but the guilt is now reduced to four little cute pieces, muffin size.

blueberry pie 3

Blueberry Mini Pies (makes 4)

If you were invited to a picnic in a beautiful summer day, these would make an awesome treat. I’d bring every pie with a spoon tied up with string, pretending I’m Martha Stewart and thinking how life is just perfect.

Pie dough (adapted from eggbeater)

  • 1 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • big pinch of salt
  • 4 ounces/ 100g/ 1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut in cubes and frozen
  • ice water

Egg wash

  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 tablespoon heavy cream
  • sanding sugar to sprinkle

Filling

  • 2 cups blueberries (I used frozen and thawed)
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • zests of 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp room temperature butter

Make the dough

Place flour, sugar and salt in the bowl of an electric mixer. On low speed, add the frozen butter a few pieces at a time, and beat until it resembles coarse meal, with larger bits of butter the size of peas. Add the ice water in a slow stream. Stop adding water the moment the dough just begins to come together.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and push the pieces together. Dough overwork or knead, or the butter will melt and it will become a tough pastry. This dough can be used right away or kept in the refrigerator, wrapped in plastic, for 3 days, or frozen for a month.

Roll out the dough to 1/8-inch thickness. Cut rounds of dough and cover 4 mini pie tins or 4 cups of a muffin pan, pressing to bottom and sides. Let the tins chill a bit in the fridge while making the filling. Wrap the rest of the dough in plastic and save it in the refrigerator too (you gonna make the pie tops later).

Make the filling:

In a medium bowl, mix the blueberries, sugar, flour, cornstarch and lime zest, tossing with your hands or a large spoon. Divide this filling between the prepared bottom crusts. Dot the berries with butter.

Roll out the remaining dough, and cut rounds to cover the pies, or make a lattice top, like in here.

Gently press top and bottom edges of dough together to seal, and then pinch sealed edges. Repeat with remaining rounds. Transfer pies to a rimmed baking sheet, and freeze or refrigerate until firm, 15 to 20 minutes, while you preheat your oven to to 375°F/190°C.

Bake until golden and juices are bubbling, about 25 minutes. Let cool completely on a wire rack.

blueberry_pie 2

52 Comments leave one →
  1. 31 de July de 2009 3:57

    You crack me up! Funny, my pants are tighter, too. I was blaming it on the dryer…even though I line dry my jeans. 😉

    These mini pies are ADORABLE!!! And, the little spoon on top…awwww! ♥

    Thanks a million for participating!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:44

      😀 Too bad I don’t have a dryer to blame!
      I loved participating on the event, it was a lot of fun to check out all the other pie stories!

  2. 31 de July de 2009 4:08

    What are the little tins you put the pies in? I have not seen them, are they muffin pans or pot pie pans, if so, what size? I LOVE THEM, they are so cute, perfect size for 2 folks with empty nest.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      1 de August de 2009 12:55

      Cindy, those are disposable mini pie tins, but I bought them here in Brazil… They have the size of a regular muffin, but I guess you could make your pies in a muffin pan and unmold when they are cold enough.
      I don’t think they would be too hard to find were you live, though.
      I found these at Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Pie-Pans-Mini-Nonstick-Non-Stick/dp/B00180VISY) – they are not the same, but even cuter.

      • Sasha permalink
        10 de August de 2012 20:24

        You could also try baking them in a pie jar instead – a half pint jar that is short and pudgy, not the tall/skinny one. These should be easy to get, especially this time of year. I think you may have to bake them a little longer, about 35-40 minutes would be my guess. I am going to try it this weekend!! 🙂

    • 23 de June de 2011 18:44

      I’ve never seen them either i had to make my own.

  3. 31 de July de 2009 4:50

    Well if that’s not the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!!! I don’t have the patience for it – lol – but it’s lovely!!! Good for you 🙂

  4. 31 de July de 2009 6:58

    LOVE the story — I’m sure we ALL can relate! I’m 8 months prego so my pants haven’t fit in months! LOL – these are just adorable!! I’ve been making my banana/zucchini/apple bread in mini loaves now for the VERY same reason (eat 2, freeze 2), but MINI-PIES… ooooooo great potential there!!!

    ps.. yes yes – where did you get the pie tins??

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:53

      Ann Marie, check Cindy’s comment above – there’s a link to some adorable mini pie tins from Amazon.
      Here in Brazil there’s this old legend: pregnant ladies HAVE to eat what they crave, or the baby may born with a birth mark in the form of the food she wanted. Go eat some pies, cause we don’t want a baby with little blueberry pie tatoos! 🙂

  5. 31 de July de 2009 7:08

    Oh my goodness..those are so cute I could put one on a key chain and carry it around. :o) Will have to try them. Thanks!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:53

      Thanks, Dorci! 🙂

  6. 31 de July de 2009 11:54

    Little things are just have to makes:) Very cute!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:54

      I LOVE little food, Monique! 🙂

  7. 31 de July de 2009 12:13

    These are so cute!!! Your crust looks delicious1

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:55

      This is a very good crust recipe indeed, Shelly! Thanks! 🙂

  8. 31 de July de 2009 12:42

    OMG
    This is beautiful !!!
    there is no doubt this is the flavor of the month !!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:55

      Thanks, pontch! 🙂

  9. 31 de July de 2009 13:11

    I definitely feel ya on the whole ‘pants getting tighter’ thing. Mine have been that way for a while now, and I need to do something about it before I have to buy new pants! Looking at all these Flavor of the Month entries isn’t helping either! You’ve combined my three favorite things: blueberries, lattice tops, and cute muffiny shaped foods into one…how can I NOT make this?

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:57

      🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one with the tight pants, Dorothy!

  10. 31 de July de 2009 13:30

    Those look delicious and they are adorable!!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:57

      Thanks, Shara!

  11. 31 de July de 2009 16:10

    It’s all about portion control 🙂 These mini pies look great 🙂 What a good idea!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 17:58

      Yes, it is, Libby! I’m thinking about making them even smaller next time (mini muffin size?) 🙂

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    31 de July de 2009 17:10

    Hmmm. My jeans are shrinking, I’m big boned, AND I have water retention. It can’t possibly be that I’m eating too many treats. LOL
    I love your mini pies. So perfectly adorable!
    ~Michelle

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:01

      😀 maybe we are both suffering from some late development syndrome – I prefer think I’m just growing, not getting fat!

  13. 31 de July de 2009 22:59

    Oh how these make my mouth water! Blueberries aren’t native to my current home, so a frozen bag costs near $10!! This means that I have to survive on arificially flavored blueberry yogurts and the occasional TCBY blueberry frozen yogurt, which is hard to come by. Thanks for such a tempting treat. Next time I’m stateside in blueberry season, whoever’s kitchen I happen to be in will be benefiting from some mini pies!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:03

      Blueberries are not native here, either, Jelli Bean! They are starting to produce them in a very few farms, but they are expensive here as well! Only for special occasions!

  14. nutmegnanny permalink
    1 de August de 2009 15:44

    These little pies are adorable! I love how jammed packed with blueberries they are:) Nothing worse than I pie without lots of filling. I think the idea of a mini pie is great because then you don’t overeat…which can be a problem with me:)

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:05

      Nutmegnanny, we call it “pastel de vento”, or “wind pie”, when a pie doesn’t have enough filling! 🙂

  15. 2 de August de 2009 12:21

    Beautiful! I’m not sure that the portion control will work, though- who’s to say you couldn’t eat more than one? 🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:06

      Eat one, and give the rest away, as fast as you can, Lisa! 🙂

  16. 2 de August de 2009 16:10

    I think the problem is that you aren’t wearing the right kind of pants : ) For example, I stopped wearing jeans long ago. I now wear yoga pants and various other garments with STRETCH. I think you hear what I’m saying : ) Blueberry pie is my favorite of all time. LOVE the way these look and I would probably convince myself that blueberry pie was the perfect and healthy breakfast!!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:07

      LOL, maybe I’ll buy some yoga pants for myself and stop worrying so much! 😀
      Thanks a lot, Kim!

  17. 3 de August de 2009 8:26

    Hehe the exact thing happened to me a while back! The jeans don’t lie do they? 😛 Although the issue is how to stop t one of these delicious pies? 🙂

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:08

      Yes, the friggin’ jeans are SUPER honest… 😦

  18. 5 de August de 2009 1:55

    It’s already been said but … ADORABLE. And DELICIOUS. And that crust looks FABULOUS.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:08

      Thanks, Abby! 🙂

  19. 5 de August de 2009 23:03

    My pants are also tight! But since I can’t really stop baking, I love your idea of small portions. They came out perfectly!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de August de 2009 18:10

      I guess every food blogger’s pants are tight! Maybe it’s a new pandemia! 😀

  20. 7 de August de 2009 4:19

    Those have to be the most perfect looking mini pies I have ever seen. Really. They are perfect looking. The last photo with the bite taken out, makes me want to dig right in and finish that pie. Awesome photo! Looks like it’s right out of a magazine. Great job. I really enjoy reading your blog.

    Heidi

  21. 7 de August de 2009 23:09

    I just found your site and I am so glad that I did. I love minis in anything cooked. I make mini meat loaves, mini kugels, mini muffins, and anything that fits into mini. I just bought a bunch of square and round ones for cakes. I make each one different. Same recipe but little changes.

  22. 10 de August de 2009 0:06

    Your blog, your pictures, your food are absolutely exquisite!

  23. 11 de August de 2009 15:15

    Beautiful pictures!

  24. Kelvin permalink
    12 de August de 2009 22:00

    will try

  25. 4 de February de 2012 20:16

    Mmmmmm they look amazing 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Blueberry mini-pies «
  2. Homemade Pie Favor Tags | Style Me Pretty : The Ultimate Wedding Blog
  3. Homemade Pie Favor Tags | Bridesmaid Dresses Blog
  4. {heart} Mini Pies! | No Fuss Fabulous
  5. Individual Blueberry Pies – A quick and easy dessert on a whim | Cooking by the seat of my Pants!
  6. Mini Blueberry Pies | Just Putzing Around the Kitchen
  7. Mini Blueberry Pies

Leave a comment