Skip to content

Cracking food secrets: coconut-almond bonbons

13 de August de 2009

coconut bonbon

This is one of those recipes you look at and think “not gonna happen”. Specially because of the first item in the ingredient list, which is cold mashed potato.

As weird, or even unsavoury as it can sound, the mad scientist in me wouldn’t let me rest until I tried it. You know, there’s a chemical reaction here – the potato in contact with sugar melts from solid to liquid… Ok,  so I’m a big nerd, so what? Besides that, the other bloggers who made the recipe SWORN this is good stuff, and tastes exactly as a famous candy bar (let’s call it “Almond Happiness”, shall we?).

So in a brave act of boldness, I did it.

And yes, my friends, it’s good. Pure happiness.

bombons coco

Coconut-Almond Bonbons or simply Almond Happiness (adapted from several sources) – aprox. 20 bonbons

  • 1/4 cup cold mashed potatoes
  • 1 1/2 (or more, if needed) cup confectioner’s sugar
  • coconut extract (optional)
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cup desiccated unsweetened coconut
  • 20 raw almonds (optional)
  • 300g milk chocolate
  1. Peel and cut in four pieces a medium potato. Boil until soft, strain and return to the hot pan to dry well. Mash while hot and pass through a sieve. Let cool. (don’t use a food processor)
  2. Place the potato and 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar in a large bowl:

passo_1

3. Whisk, and you wil observe the potato starting to melt, like this:

passo_24. Keep whisking until it turns liquid:

passo_35. Add the remaining sugar. Mix well until it reaches a paste texture. You may need more sugar to get to this:

passo_46. Add the coconut and mix well. I used my hands, since it got a little thick to use a spoon or spatula.

7. Using two teaspoons of the mixture, mold with your hands little bars, or even balls. Press one almond over each bonbon. Let them rest a bit in a baking sheet while melting/tempering chocolate.

9. Dip in the chocolate first the bottoms, one by one, and set on a large piece of parchment paper to harden. Then, place each candy in a fork and, with a spoon, let some chocolate cover the tops and sides. Let it drain a little to remove excess chocolate. Place them on the parchment paper and let the chocolate dry.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 de August de 2009 18:32

    Mashed potatoes, eh?? Such an intriguing ingredient for the bonbons!!

  2. 13 de August de 2009 19:23

    really interesting . these look delicious though . 🙂

  3. 13 de August de 2009 23:26

    Do you think instant potato flakes would work? The candies look extraordinary!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      19 de August de 2009 3:34

      Only trying it to find out, cookienurse! But the potato cooks really fast, 10 minutes tops…

  4. 14 de August de 2009 9:40

    Looks amazingly delicious 🙂
    Could you please explain how to place the candy on a fork after dipping the bottoms? Should I place them from the bottoms? Won’t it spoil the chocolate cover?
    Thanks!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      14 de August de 2009 12:26

      Shirley, you have to wait until the chocolate in the bottom is totally set/hard. That way you can place them in the fork easily – bottom down – and don’t ruin the cover you’ve already made.

  5. 14 de August de 2009 11:09

    I am fascinated, this really seems fantastic. I’m going to bookmark this one and hope to try it soon.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      19 de August de 2009 3:36

      Let me know if you liked it! 🙂

  6. 14 de August de 2009 13:24

    Oh my goodness – my husband would be all over these. He loves almond joy candy bars and these are so similar.

  7. 14 de August de 2009 16:06

    These are just amazing!!!! And the potato mixture is such a unique twist!

  8. Barb permalink
    14 de August de 2009 18:13

    I’ve been making these for YEARS! A recipe like this has been past down in my family for generations under a different name. They’re a special treat we make around the holidays and anyone who has never had them before will never know that there are potatoes in them. We love them dipped in dark chocolate.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      19 de August de 2009 3:42

      Barb, after I made these, I found some old recipes for sweets with potatoes and even parsnips…
      Thanks for living your comment, now everybody can have your word on the candies too! 😉

  9. 14 de August de 2009 18:44

    This looks fantastic! I must have some!

  10. 14 de August de 2009 19:38

    My favorite dessert combo – chocolate and coconut. make that dark chocolate for me.

  11. 15 de August de 2009 1:18

    Your bonbons are amazing. What a fascinating recipe. Mashed potatoes. Who would have thought? I’ll have to try this one. They look delicious. Congrats on your FF award from the foodie blogroll.

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      19 de August de 2009 3:43

      Thanks, Teresa! 🙂

  12. 15 de August de 2009 14:01

    Wow….I’ve never heard of this, but think now I’ll HAVE to give them a try! I ♥ Almond Joys! This might be dangerous!!! 😉

  13. 15 de August de 2009 16:33

    Those look so so so adorable! Oddly enough, my mom and I were trying to come up with bizarre, possibly workable flavors/ingredients for new cookies, and potatoes were one of the foods my mom came up with! I didn’t think it would work, but I stand corrected—these look awesome!

  14. 15 de August de 2009 17:30

    I came across your blog today and love love the beautiful photographs and the extremely witty banter! Looking forward to reading somemore!

  15. 15 de August de 2009 22:30

    Because…Almond Joy got nuts. Mounds don’t! GREG

  16. 15 de August de 2009 23:41

    I’m more into baking than confections but this one caught my eye. Yumm!
    Stopping by from Tastespotting!

    Deanna 🙂

  17. 16 de August de 2009 8:57

    that looks seriously like good stuff ^^ … it’s already on my to-do list ^^ … XOXO

  18. 16 de August de 2009 14:25

    That looks good! Who would have thought to use potatoes in that recipe? 🙂

  19. 16 de August de 2009 20:04

    These look beautiful! I can’t wait to try them.
    http://ourkitchen.fisherpaykel.com/

  20. caripity permalink
    18 de August de 2009 0:06

    amazing! i have to try this, and if you say t works, i’m in!

    cheers,

    pity

  21. 19 de August de 2009 15:37

    I can’t wait to try this!

  22. 25 de August de 2009 13:59

    You have a fabulous blog with very interesting things to try. I am following u.

  23. travelingwilbury permalink
    5 de February de 2010 21:49

    Hello Paula
    I’m impressed with your blog. Talking about intriguing ingredients, I recently made clementine candy with… boiled carrots.

    Christmas edible gifts: clementine candy

    Btw, will you publish/have you published the home-made oreos recipe?

    Good luck!
    Gabriela

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      6 de February de 2010 12:49

      Hi Gabriela! The homemade oreos are here.
      I’m going to your blog to take a look at this carrot recipe now!

  24. travelingwilbury permalink
    8 de February de 2010 10:34

    Thanks for the tip, Paula!

  25. Valentina permalink
    25 de September de 2010 21:16

    Hello! I would like to know how long it can last a bon bon with this filling? thanks!

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      30 de September de 2010 22:27

      Hi Valentina!
      These stay fresh for up to 5 days, room temperature, in an airtight container.

  26. 16 de November de 2010 6:10

    Awesome! Just made some and they are fab. I also melted white chocolate and drizzled it over the finished product to give it some decoration. :0)

  27. Jenia Z permalink
    13 de April de 2014 15:33

    Thank you so much for this great recipe! The bonbons are gorgeous and super tasty! My guests gave me an almost rockstar status. Obviously, they don’t know how easy the recipe is 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolaty Weekend Links : Chocolate Bytes - All About Chocolate – Delicious Chocolate Recipes
  2. Irish Potatoes « Teacher by Day – Chef by Night

Leave a comment