Skip to content

Ho Ho Ho – It’s Gingerbread Time!

1 de December de 2009

Bake at 350

I know I’m silly, but I spend the whole year looking at my Christmas cookie cutters: the gingerbread man, the reindeer, the tree, the snow flakes… well, all Santa’s GANG. And I sigh, thinking how much time there’s gonna be till I’ll get to use them again. When november comes, I just can’t help myself, and go straight to the kitchen to make gingerbread.

 

(soundtrack to get in the mood)

This is my Christmas tradition, so this is a perfect entry for the Flavor of the Month theme, which is… Traditions!

Every year I make gingerbread people for my friends, and a little gingerbread house I give to a special kid in my life I think is going to like it. It’s a little time-consuming, but a lot of fun to watch the reactions. I’ve had smiles of  joy,  jumps of excitement, and even an instant demolition from someone in a hurry to have a taste of the roof. 🙂

Honey Gingerbread Cookies (makes one small house or 25 six-inch cookies) – adapted from here

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup (1 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoons ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 large eggs
  • 1/4 cups unsulfured molasses
  • 1/2 cup honey

In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and salt. Set aside.

In the electric mixer, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg and beat well, about one minute. Add molasses and honey and mix on low-speed, just to combine.

Add flour mixture and mix until all the flour is incorporated. Divide the batter in two and wrap in plastic. Refrigerate for at least one hour.

Preheat oven to 180°C/ 350°F. On a floured surface, roll out dough to 1/4 inch thick, and cut out using cookie cutters or a template for gingerbread house (this one from Martha Stewart is very pretty). Transfer the cookies to a parchment-lined baking sheet, and freeze for 15 minutes.

Bake until firm but not darkened (the time will depend on the cookie sizes). Transfer to a wire rack to cool before decorating.

For a really good royal icing recipe and step-by-step, check Bridget’s website, Bake at 350°, then you can see the other Flavor of the Month entries too.

 

39 Comments leave one →
  1. 1 de December de 2009 3:11

    LOVE your soundtrack! LOVE your gingerbread!!! I have been itching to make some and your men and reindeer and houses are positively charming!

    • aldo permalink
      1 de December de 2009 20:49

      great winter spirit !

  2. 1 de December de 2009 8:42

    MMMMMMMMMM,….your ginger bread man & woman look awesomely delicious!!

    I also love your ginger bread houses! Real beauties!!

    You have a COOL foodblog! Excellent pictures as well!

  3. 1 de December de 2009 10:54

    Ohhh I love the gingerbread man with the tie, very official!

  4. 1 de December de 2009 15:07

    Favorite part of the holidays is the Gingerbread men! Thank you for sharing this recipe, I am going to try this out.

    http://anlimarey.wordpress.com/

  5. 1 de December de 2009 15:20

    Nice pictures…I like the guy with the suspenders, very sharp look.
    Toriano
    thedish22.wordpress.com

  6. apocalypsecakes permalink
    1 de December de 2009 15:34

    I love it. Makes me feel warm inside. Those cookies would go great with some cake! http://apocalypsecakes.wordpress.com

  7. 1 de December de 2009 15:56

    Oh my goodness, can you teach me to make gingerbread men and houses like you?
    That would be awesome. We must do a little when I visit, even if it’s not around Christmas. =)

  8. 1 de December de 2009 16:11

    I love your little gingerbread houses. My siblings and I always make one big house, but this year, we’re contemplating making multiple, smaller houses!

  9. 1 de December de 2009 16:56

    My sweet tooth is jumping. Love your gingerbread man but what has me salivating is those homes. They are beautiful.

  10. SallyK permalink
    1 de December de 2009 18:24

    Love the smell of gingerbread cookies baking! Then eating them still warm… North Coast Muse @ http://sally1029.wordpress.com

  11. 1 de December de 2009 18:29

    hahaahaaa. . Awesome & beautiful!

  12. 1 de December de 2009 18:58

    THE HOUSES! So cute!

  13. 1 de December de 2009 18:59

    Ooh, I love the idea of a honey gingerbread cookie! I wish I had the time to make all these great cookies I’ve been seing online lately!

  14. 1 de December de 2009 20:53

    Your ginger bread houses are amazing – they are so pretty! The little gingerbread men are adorable and delicious: I love this Christmas tradition!

  15. Natalie permalink
    1 de December de 2009 21:32

    wow how nice the gingerbread houses and men . wish i was there watching you do them 🙂

  16. 1 de December de 2009 21:40

    gingerbread!

    yum yum yum.

    ^^

    whats the conversion rate?

    i be british, but i’ll try and see if i can work it out 😛

    • thecookieshop permalink*
      1 de December de 2009 22:00

      There’s a link to a measurement conversion calculator on the right side bar, teenagegeek! I hope it helps!

  17. oneordinaryday permalink
    1 de December de 2009 21:58

    Adorable!

  18. 1 de December de 2009 23:34

    My favorite time of the year isn’t Christmas… it’s gingerbread time!! LOL ;D

  19. 1 de December de 2009 23:38

    I’m a sucker for food posts. Just wish the hubs would build a gingerbread house with me.

  20. 2 de December de 2009 0:31

    Oh wow, the gingerbread cookies and house looks fantastic. I too am toying with the idea of whether to make gingerbread this year as well …. I’m still thinking!

  21. Kevin permalink
    2 de December de 2009 5:29

    I always loved gingerbread houses as a kid…Actually, I still do! An instant demolition might be hard to watch after all that work!

  22. 2 de December de 2009 7:19

    I love your ginger bread houses, it’s cool 😀

  23. 2 de December de 2009 8:19

    Yum! Looks perfect

  24. 2 de December de 2009 10:17

    mmmmmmmmm………… looks very tasty))) we do not cook such things, but you know, you made me feel the coming Christmas spirit) thanks))))

  25. sunshinelollipop permalink
    2 de December de 2009 11:24

    hmmm they look really nice. Great pics. The little houses look so cute
    http://sunshinelollipop.wordpress.com

  26. 2 de December de 2009 13:48

    i love the houses..lovely!

  27. breadetbutter permalink
    3 de December de 2009 15:27

    These are so adorable! I love the detail in the little gingerbread houses. 🙂

  28. 6 de December de 2009 23:09

    they look sooo cute, love them! well done, cheers from london

  29. 10 de December de 2009 19:23

    hey P. how have you been? ur village looks amazing! when can move in? I love ur recipe and I will attempt making some cookies!

  30. 31 de January de 2010 1:30

    I just found your blog and am enjoying reading it. I am intrigued by the addition of honey to this recipe. I made gingerbread men every Christmas but my recipe does not call for the honey. I will definitely be trying it next time! These make great place cards at the holiday table after piping names on them. Along with neckties for men and holly for women.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s Gingerbread Time! « Luv' E@ch of the Day
  2. Merry Xmas! (from me & my GingerBread gang) « Bao/Bread
  3. Tweets that mention Ho Ho Ho – It’s Gingerbread Time! « The Cookie Shop -- Topsy.com
  4. Mein Weihnachtsgeschenk für meine Lieben « chyjospot
  5. Licidersko srce, medenjaci, džindžermen i Lebkuchen | abc - amarilisonline
  6. Galletas navideñas de jengibre | alisusan

Leave a comment